Harbinger Group Inc.
    Print Page | Close Window

SEC Filings

HRG GROUP, INC. filed this Form DEF 14A on 07/27/2016
Entire Document
 << Previous Page | Next Page >>

Why am I receiving these materials?
This Proxy Statement, the accompanying Notice of Annual Meeting of Stockholders and proxy card are being furnished to the stockholders of HRG Group, Inc. (the “Company,” “HRG,” “we,” “us” or “our”) by the Board of Directors of the Company (the “Board” or “Board of Directors”) to solicit your proxy to vote at the 2016 Annual Meeting of Stockholders of the Company and any adjournments or postponements thereof (the “Annual Meeting”) to be held on September 7, 2016, at 10:00 a.m., Eastern Time, at the offices of Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP, 1285 Avenue of the Americas, New York, New York 10019-6064.
This Proxy Statement summarizes the information that holders of shares of our common stock, par value $0.01 per share (“Common Stock”), need to vote at the Annual Meeting. Unless stated otherwise herein or the context requires otherwise, references to “shares” means shares of our Common Stock, and “stockholder” means a holder of our Common Stock.
We will begin mailing this Proxy Statement, along with the proxy card and the other materials listed below, on or about July 29, 2016. To ensure that your proxy is voted at the Annual Meeting, your proxy should be received no later than 5:00 p.m., Eastern Time, on September 2, 2016 if given by mail, or by 11:59 p.m., Eastern Time, on September 6, 2016 if submitted by telephone or over the Internet.
We have requested that banks, brokerage firms and other nominees who hold shares on behalf of the beneficial owners of our shares (such stock is often referred to as being held in “street name”) as of the close of business on July 25, 2016 forward these materials, together with a proxy card or voting instruction card, to those beneficial owners. We have agreed to pay the reasonable expenses of the banks, brokerage firms and other nominees for forwarding these materials.
What materials am I receiving?
You are receiving:
1. this Proxy Statement for the Annual Meeting;
2. a proxy card or voting instruction form for the Annual Meeting;
3. the Company’s Annual Report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended September 30, 2015 (“Fiscal 2015”), as filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission (the “SEC”), on November 20, 2015 (the “2015 Annual Report”); and
4. Amendment No. 1 to the Company’s Annual Report on Form 10-K/A for Fiscal 2015, as filed with the SEC on January 13, 2016.
What is the purpose of the Annual Meeting?
At the Annual Meeting, including any adjournment or postponement thereof, our stockholders will be asked to consider and vote upon three proposals to:
1. Elect Messrs. Asali, Ianna and Luterman as Class III directors;
2. Ratify the appointment of KPMG LLP (“KPMG”) as the Company’s independent registered public accounting firm for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2016 (“Fiscal 2016”); and
3. Re-approve the material terms of the performance goals under the Company’s 2011 Omnibus Equity Award Plan (as amended, the “2011 Plan”) for purposes of Section 162(m) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 (as amended, the “Code”).
You may also be asked to consider and vote to transact such other business as may come before the Annual Meeting or any adjournment or postponement thereof. Other than matters incident to the conduct of the Annual Meeting and those set forth in this Proxy Statement, we do not know of any business or proposals to be considered at the Annual Meeting. If any other business is proposed and properly presented at the Annual Meeting, the proxies received from our stockholders give the proxy holders the authority to vote on the matter at their discretion.
Who are the nominees for election and what would be the size and composition of the Board and its standing committees following their election?
The nominees for election as Class III directors at the Annual Meeting are Messrs. Asali, Ianna and Luterman. See “Proposal 1 Election of Directors — Nominees for Election as Directors” for our nominees’ biographical information. Messrs. Davis, McKnight and Whittaker will continue as Class I directors and Messrs. Glovier, Maura and Steinberg will continue as Class II directors. As previously reported by the Company, on May 5, 2016, Mr. Davis informed the Company of his resignation from the Board effective August 31, 2016. Mr. Davis resigned from the Board to pursue other endeavors and not as a result of a disagreement with the Company or the Board. See “Proposal 1 Election of Directors — Continuing Directors.”
As of the date hereof, Messrs. Davis, Glovier, Ianna, Luterman, McKnight, Steinberg and Whittaker are “independent” directors under the applicable SEC rules, the NYSE Listed Company Manual and other rules (“NYSE Rules”) and the Company’s Corporate Governance Guidelines. As of the date hereof, our Audit Committee is comprised of Messrs. Luterman (Chairman), Davis and Ianna. Messrs. Luterman, Davis and Ianna qualify as “audit committee financial experts,” as defined by


 << Previous Page | Next Page >>